“I wrote about …

“I wrote about my experiences because I thought too many people tell young folks, “I never did anything wrong. Who, Moi? – never I. I have no skeletons in my closet. In fact, I have no closet.” They lie like that and then young people find themselves in situations and they think, “Damn I must be a pretty bad guy. My mom or dad never did anything wrong.” They can’t forgive themselves and go on with their lives. So I wrote the book Gather Together in My Name [about her past as a sex worker.”
– Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou passed away yesterday, 

I never really knew her until she passed away, let alone her past as sex workers.

Yet I found myself related to her in this quote and her past as sex worker, 

for she shown hardly any shame over her past as sex workers, but also the fact that she seemed to be proud of it.

I best begin to read her work some day, upon realizing she was such a famous figure in sex work communities.

Reference: http://teentalkingcircles.org/8_interviews/mayaAngelou.htm

Related articles: http://titsandsass.com/who-gets-left-out-the-people-who-coined-the-term-addendum-to-the-respectability-politics-round-table/

http://titsandsass.com/the-erasure-of-maya-angelou/

Leave a Reply

