– Drumming Song –

Drumming_Song Drumming-Song-Music-Video-florence-the-machine-25357884-1270-712 Drumming-Song-Music-Video-florence-the-machine-25357963-1270-712 Florence Drumming Song 2 florence-and-the-machine-1 GBUV70903501_11400

 

Of many songs from Florence and the Machine, my favorite would always be “Drumming Song”.

To be honest I did not know why I was so obsessed when listening to it, I presume the drumming sound reminded me something religious., the scent of a ritual that normally found in Stravinsky’s “Rite of Spring”.

The music video also reinforced my liking of this song, the setting was rather Russian in an Orthodox context. Florence Welch the vocalist danced and sang in a ritual style with the dancers, as if praying to god in hope he or she would answer her prayer. Based on Florence Welch’s likeness to Lizzie Siddal, I would say something to do with hopping an unrequited love would eventually be answered.

I guess that was why I was obsessed with the song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=boo2Zm69fhY (the SONG)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vM_3HWRylQ (a favorite cover of mine, for the sound of drums)

Leave a Reply

