– Soul Mountain –

100_5633_002 scan0023

I guess I was reading in desperation to finish, so I could move on to A House of Mr Biswas or Love in the time of Cholera. So I basically just skin-read the novel…(sigh).

The novel focused on a man’s journey and experience in Soul Mountain (a trip he made after being wrongly diagnosed for lung cancer), on his way he met various characters and get into different situation, along with his involvement with a woman who was a sex worker which she shared her stories with him.

I could say very little of the novel because of the skin-read, but also I found it very difficult to read because of the translation. I guess the awareness of it was written in Cantonese before it got into the English version, so I found it harder to get into, might have been better if reading in Chinese.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

