– Niki de Saint Phalle –

niki-de-saint-phalles-84th-birthday-5177116207349760-hp

Today would’ve been the 84th birthday of French artist & sculptor, Niki de Saint Phalle.

She was born in France in 1930, and ever since then she has been associating a lot of herself with art.

I never properly come across her until today through Google Doodle, even it was possible I might’ve heard of her name.

Her style reminded me of Van Gogh, so colourful and so full of life, full of hope. 

I adored her Nanas – a set of sculptures with curvy female figure in different colour (in clothes and skin), dancing happily.

nanas

In her early days, she did some very surprising artwork – especially the shooting.

06-autel-noir-et-blancNiki de Saint Phalle – Shooting

Upon discovering her, I was unable to explain the feeling of joy within me, despite the fact I had some bad days – especially another job rejection. Yet I presume, art exist to make people see a sense of possibility.

Leave a Reply

